top of page

Coming Full Circle

My three months of adventure have finally come to an end. This past Sunday, I found myself on that long, 11-hour flight back to the US with all of my life from the past few months crammed into a mere two suitcases and a backpack. Italy was a life-changing experience for me, and I am forever grateful for the experiences I will have for the rest of my life from my time there. Despite the fact that everyone on the trip with me would probably tell you that I was the very first one to say I was ready to leave and be home, and I was indeed the only one to cry-at least to my knowledge-as we landed in Atlanta, I definitely miss my Italian home.

Coming back home for me was a shock unlike any other. One doesn’t realize just how much their body and mind adapts to their environment until they are thrown into a completely new environment. I, alongside my friend, continuously found ourselves slightly confused by increased prices before realizing sales tax is still a thing and happily replying “ciao” and “grazie” to unsuspecting airport workers before realizing our mistakes and muttering the correct English translations. These are things I still struggle with days later, as I attempt to navigate my way back through work and family life.


Another rather substantial transition I’ve had to make is dinner. In Italy, I had eventually begun to eat dinner alongside other Italians late at night (the stores typically didn’t open until 7pm, with diners arriving around 8-9pm). Here at home, my family has always eaten an early dinner, so it was a shock at first to come back and the next day dinner was on the table by 5pm (it was a lovely dinner though nonetheless). It makes for interesting laughs with my family when I remember and share all of the little things that remind me of just how different the cultures are in the US and Italy.


I will forever be grateful for my time in Italy, and Siena especially. I have created not only strong friendships, but I have found a new family as well. I wouldn’t have been able to speak about my experiences these past three months If it wasn’t for a lot of special people. First, this incredible travel experience would have never happened if it wasn’t for the open arms of the Dante Alighieri society in Siena. This organization is full of some of the most beautiful people I will ever have the pleasure of meeting. Next, another large player in my ability to travel to Siena and Italy is Dr. Luca Bonomi—the president of Dante Alighieri. Dr. Bonomi was not only the president of the program for me, but a professor as well and I am grateful for the knowledge he has graciously shared with me on this trip.


I am grateful to be home finally. The crisp, southern air is something I have sorely missed while overseas. However, I definitely know I will miss the aged, grey cobblestone streets I waked on each morning and the smell of chestnuts from street vendors that filled the December air near my apartment. I’ll miss the rich food and even richer coffee that I was able to indulge in each day. However, I know that eventually I will return to experience it all again. Arrivederci, Siena. I’ll see you soon.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page