top of page

Anticipating Rome: The Eternal City

You never realize how much time flies until it decides to slap you in the face. At least, that's how it did me once I realized there was less than a week left before I would soon find myself siting on a cramped plane on my way to live in a whole other country for three months.


Rome, The Eternal City, is home to countless historical landmarks spanning across centuries and home to one of the greatest empires to ever live on the Earth. So, what would a person expect to experience their first time in Rome? Here's a list of some of Rome's most famous (and maybe not so famous) landscapes and my expectations for them, as well as some of my expectations for Italian culture overall.



The Colosseum

Street view of the Colosseum in Rome, Italy.
The Colosseum in Rome, Italy

The Colosseum is the largest amphitheater in the world. It is, no doubt, a thing of beauty that has withstood centuries of history. Despite the stunning architecture of this wondrous landmark, though, I'd expect based on realistic pictures I've seen that the Colosseum will be somewhat of a shortcoming due to the sheer number of people who go to see it's beauty. That's not stopping me from being excited, though.



The Trevi Fountain

A front view of the Trevi Fountain in Rome, Italy.
The Trevi Fountain in Rome, Italy

Standing over 85 feet tall (26.3 meters to be exact), the Trevi Fountain is no doubt one of the most famous fountains in the world. It's been a featured scene in countless movies, pictures, and even music for decades. This is why I expect for the Trevi Fountain to also be a magnificent sight in real life. I hope that I will be able to see it up close and maybe even throw a penny over my shoulder into the fountain for some good luck on my trip!



The Sistine Chapel (and the Vatican Museums)

A picture of a marble room full of statues inside the Vatican Museums.
Statues inside the Vatican Museums.

No doubt one of his most famous artworks of all time, I have always adored Michelangelo's work of the Sistine Chapel ceiling. I have no doubt that seeing both the chapel itself and the ceiling will only reinforce my love of Italian Renaissance art. I have high expectations for the rest of the Vatican Museums as well and I hope to be even more in awe of everything they have to hold after seeing them in person.



The Orange Garden (Savello Park)

Picture of oranges on an orange tree
Oranges on orange trees

Spanning across almost 8,000 acres, Savello Park, also known as the Orange Tree Garden, has been known to offer a stunning view of Rome. I'll admit I didn't know about this garden until I read about it on my itinerary for Rome, but now that I know about it I cannot wait to walk through and experience the beauty this garden has to offer. My expectation for Savello Park is that it will be a very daydream-like experience and I cannot be more excited.



The Spanish Steps

A view of Rome from the top of the Spanish Steps.
A view from the top of the Spanish Steps.

Known for their irresistible stories of midnight lovers and romance, The Spanish Steps are possibly one of the most famous landmarks in Rome. I won't lie – I've dreamed of standing on the Spanish Steps with my boyfriend as he proposes as part of some grand romantic gesture. Needless to say I'm probably most excited to see the Spanish Steps in person, but my expectations for them are not high. I expect that they'll be crowded with tourists and locals alike, and probably won't have room for the grandiose gestures hidden in my dreams.



Italian (and Roman) Culture

A picture of an Italian flag outside of a shop.
An Italian flag on display outside of a shop.

Italy is known as a country of passion, romance, and really good food. Of course, what could you expect from a country who kisses friends on their cheeks as greetings and has some of the friendliest, best-cook-alive grandmas that have ever lived? I expect to learn a great deal from Italian culture and I hope that maybe I might just be able to find an Italian grandma of my own that can teach me a few cooking lessons!


All in all, I've never been more excited and terrified to begin a journey in my life. I can't wait to see what all the great country of Italy, and the mystical city of Rome, have to teach me.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page